homereadings and workshopsbooksinterviewsetcetera
biopress kitcontact

> Vita (pdf)
> Bio in Brief
• Grants, honors and awards
> Teaching experience



2016: “The Walk Home,” was the winner in Creative Nonfiction’s Summer issue “best essay prize." It was reprinted in Creative Nonfiction, spring 2021 as one of its “favorite prize-winning essays.” It was included in “Notable Essays and Literary Nonfiction of 2016,” in The Best American Essays 2017.

2014: "Veronica" was included in "Notable Essays of 2013," The Best American Essays 2014.

2013: Winner, Gregory O'Donoghue International Poetry Prize for "The Conversation." Click here to read the judge's comments.

2011–2012: Author in Residence, University Club, Portland, OR.

2009: Horses and the Human Soul selected by the Oregon State Library for 150 Books for the Sesquicentennial from among books by Oregon writers, 1836 – 2009.

2008: Winner, Robin Becker Chapbook Prize from Seven Kitchens Press, Lost Lands.

2008: Finalist: Oregon Book Awards, for Postcard from the Bottom of the Sea

2008: Pushcart Prize nomination for "What the Living Do" published in Creative Nonfiction.

2008: Distinguished Alumni Award, Marylhurst University

2007: Project Grant from Regional Arts and Culture Council, Portland, OR

2006: Poetry in Motion: Poem selected for display on TriMet buses and MAX trains, sponsored by Poetry Society of America and Literary Arts

2005: Trying to Be an Honest Woman selected by Literary Oregon for One Hundred Books, 1800 - 2000

2005: Finalist: Oregon Book Awards, for Horses and the Human Soul

2004: The Arvon/Times International Poetry Competition, short listed, finalists anthology

2003: The Bridport Prize (U.K.): 3rd prize

2003: Short listed for Writer of the Year Award, London, England

2003: First runner-up, New Letters Award, Creative Nonfiction

2002: Winner Clackamas Review Poetry Contest

2001: Winner Lambda Literary Award for Lifesaving: A Memoir

2001: Finalist, PEN/Martha Albrand Award for the Art of the Memoir, Lifesaving: A Memoir

2000: Daily Telegraph/Arvon Foundation (England) poetry contest, finalists’ anthology

2000: First place, Portland (U.K.) Poetry Contest

2000: Oregon Literary Arts Inc., fellowship in creative nonfiction

1998: Barbara Deming Fund grant for creative nonfiction

1997: Stuart H. Holbrook Award for outstanding contributions to Oregon’s literary life, with Ruth Gundle

1997: Winner, Clackamas Review Poetry Contest, judge: Vern Rutsala

1997: First Place, White Mice Award in Poetry from the Lawrence Durrell Association

1997: Oregon Arts Commission Fellowship in Creative Nonfiction

1996: Winner, Dulwich Festival (U.K.) International Poetry Competition

1996: Resident fellow: Tyrone Guthrie Centre at Annaghmakerrig, Ireland

1995: Andres Berger Award in Creative Nonfiction from Northwest Writers

1994: American Civil Liberties Union, Oregon: Freedom of Expression Award

1993: Oregon Institute of Literary Arts: Creative Nonfiction Grant

1993: Sonora Review Annual Nonfiction Award

1991: First Place: Portland Poetry Festival contest

1989: Oregon Institute of Literary Arts, Creative Nonfiction Grant

1988: Barbara Deming Fund: The Gerty Gerty Gerty in the Arts Arts Arts Award

1983: Jeanette Rankin Award, Oregon Women’s Political Caucus